Chartered in November 1972 by Second Baptist Church, which would eventually become Silverside Church, Troop 70 originally consisted of eight
boys and two adult leaders. One of those adults was R.W. Grafton, the troop's first Scoutmaster. That first year, William Weisenfells joined the troop
and eventually became its first Eagle Scout in 1977.

In 1978, Roger Jones took over as Scoutmaster. Trips to Philmont, Canada, the National Jamboree, and the 1980 Winter Olympics were among the
exciting activities the troop took part in under Jones' leadership.  Troop 70 was inducted into the Century Club in 1980. Eagle Scout Rick Riegel
served as the Nentego Lodge Chief during 1980-1981.  

In 1982 Jones turned over the position of Scoutmaster to John Dorsey.  High Adventures to Canada, Maine, and Philmont took place over the next two
years. In 1984, Troop 70 began its tradition of regularly inviting Webelos Scouts on camping trips.

Bernie McKay signed on as Scoutmaster in 1984, overseeing another trip to Philmont during his tenure.  In 1986 Barry Myers took over the leadership
of the troop, just in time to attend its next High Adventure trip to Canada.

Two years later in 1988 Myers left the position and, seeing a need for his services, Spencer Stradley, a longtime troop committee member and
Assistant Scoutmaster, stepped into the role.

The troop would gain its first long-term Scoutmaster since Grafton in Rick Murray, who took over the mantle in 1989.  The troop became more active in
its camping during his term, culminating in Murray leading troop members to the 1993 National Jamboree as an Assistant Scoutmaster and in the
troop's return to High Adventure with a trip to Maine in 1995.  Tradition also became a mainstay, with the adoption of the troop nickname,
"Peacemakers," as well as the establishment of permanent patrol names, beginning with the Warrior Patrol. During this period Murray led members
to the 1993 National Jamboree as an Assistant Scoutmaster. Murray stayed with the troop as Scoutmaster until 1996, seeing his two sons through
the troop.  

In March 1996, Matt Bib, himself a Troop 70 Eagle Scout, agreed to take the position.  A few years later, in 2000, Second Baptist Church changed its
name to Silverside Church and continued as the troop's Chartering Organization.

Troop 70 continued to grow in the areas of leadership development, community service, outdoor activities, and tradition.  In addition to the Warrior
Patrol, the troop established the Brave patrol and a New Scout patrol. Troop 70  continued its high adventure program, sending crews to Florida Sea
Base in 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009, and 2014 and returning to Maine High Adventure in 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011. As Scoutmaster of Troops 501 and
A110, Bib led members of Troop 70 and other Del-Mar-Va Council troops to the 2010 and 2013 National Scout Jamborees.

Troop 70 has also increased its participation in the Order of the Arrow. Eagle Scout Matthew Coyle served as the Powder MIll Chapter Chief from
2009-2011, as did Kellen Tangora during 2011-2012, Aeddon Berti during 2012-2013, and Vincent Smeal during 2013-2014. Eagle Scout Martin
Martinez served as Nentego Lodge Chief during 2010-2011, as did Kellen Tangora during 2013-2014. Members of Troop 70 participated in
ArrowCorps in 2008, SummitCorps in 2011, and in the 2009,  2012, and 2015 National Order of the Arrow Conferences.

In 2012 Troop 70 gained a new chartering organization and meeting location in Saints Peter and Paul Ukrainian Orthodox Church. The following
summer, Matt Bib, three adult Scouters and ten Scouts from Troop 70 attended the inaugural National Scout Jamboree that was held at Summit
Bechtel Reserve, near Beckley, West Virginia, as members of Del-Mar-Va Council's Troop A110.

After 18 years, Bib retired as Scoutmaster in August 2014 with long-time Assistant Scoutmaster Ken Dahl assuming the role.

Troop #70, now in its 42nd  year, has had over 300 troop members and 89 Eagle Scouts, and is stronger than ever. Through commitment to
leadership, service, camping and tradition the Peacemakers are firm in their dedication to the ideals of Scouting.